RSS

Unconscious?

11 Dec

Last night I changed a diaper in my sleep. Without waking up without turning on the lights, I picked up my baby and walked her to the changing table, changed her dirty diaper and put her back to bed. Then I went back to bed.  This morning I had no memory of the previous evening’s events.  I know what you’re probably thinking… “You horrible parent! You could have injured your 3 week old baby in your sleep and never known it!”

Fortunately I didn’t. But this got me thinking…

In my busy schedule I use technology to integrate my work and personal schedules. I carefully plan my priorities, assign weights to tasks and schedule the accordingly. Then I do my best to perform each task on my agenda in the time I’ve allotted and with proper care.  At the end of each week, month, year I take a moment to reflect and benchmark my effectiveness. This is the thought that occurred to me: what if I utilized my subconscious time as well as I did my conscious time.

Obviously I will not be reading my planner in my sleep (because it’s impossible since reading is a left brain function). But there must be ways to better myself during pillow time besides the occasional twilight diaper change. Here’s what I’ve found.

1. There are numerous scams, quacks, religious fanatics, and others who claim unconscious functionality can improve our everyday lives
2. Freud (despite having some crazy sexual issues) began with the hypothesis merely that the unconscious mind is connected to the conscious mind and effects our deepest desires.

It stands to reason then, that if my subconscious gives birth to desires, and desire “when it has conceived gives birth to sin, and sin when it is fully grown brings forth death” (james 1:15) it would behove me to look into the desires of the subcinscious, the grandmother of sin a little more closely. According to one article, the subconscious mind works several milliseconds faster than the conscious. So controlling the subconscious I’d be living in the future battling sin and temptation before my consciousness even got there. Freud viewed the unconscious mind as a “repository for the unacceptable things put out of mind by the mechanism of repression”. That’s the popular psychology side. If we look at scripture let us look at Luke 6:42. Not a literal log, but the idea is I can’t see a much bigger problem with myself because my conscious mind is busy looking for a speck in my brother’s eye. Could it be that the unacceptable thought of a “log in my eye” poses such a threat to my image of self-righteousness that I would unconsciously repress it?

I’m pretty sure Freud wasn’t a big Bible reader, but whether you want to say “unconscious mind” or “sinful nature” I think we’d be talking about the same thing!

Oh Lord, you have searched me and known me!

You know when I sit down and when I rise up;

You discern my thoughts from afar.

You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways.

Even before a word is on my tongue behold, oh Lord, you know it altogether.

You hem me in behind and before and lay Your hand upon me.

Such knowledge is to wonderful for me; it is high; I cannot attain it.

Psalm 139:1-6

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 11, 2011 in Snippets

 

Leave a Reply

 
